What is the Social Host Law?
The law in Massachusetts is clear. Whoever furnishes alcohol to a person under 21 years of age shall be punished by: A fine up to $2,000, or imprisonment for up to a year, or both.
A Social Host is anyone (adult or minor) who is in control of the premises and who furnishes alcohol or allows it to be consumed on those premises.
Top 5 Questions about this Law:
Could I be breaking the law even if I didn’t host the party?
Find Out More: http://socialhost.drugfree.org/
Can I be sued if my child or an underage guest at my home drinks alcohol and injures someone?
Find out More: http://socialhostliability.org/
What if my child allows underage guests to drink or possess alcohol at my home or other property I control?
Find Out More: http://socialhostliability.org/files/kids_alcohol.pdf
Does the Social Host Law apply if I rent a hotel room for my child’s party?
Find Out More: http://socialhostliability.org/files/proms.pdf
Will my homeowner’s policy cover the cost of litigation and any judgment against me or my child?
To learn more about the Social Host Law in Massachusetts, consider these resources:
Underage Drinking in the Home: What You Should Know:
Go To: socialhost.drugfree.org
Choose to Keep Your Freedom: Legal Consequences
Q&A About Social Host Law
Go To: hria.org
Underage Drinking: Choices & Consequences